top of page

Full...

Updated: Jul 16, 2020


These two poems were created as part of a challenge I set myself! I took the word 'full' and decided to write one poem that interpreted the word positively and one that interpreted it negatively. I found it fascinating to see where my mind went when I was forced to reconsider and explore a simple word in ways I may not have considered before! See below for the two poems-


Negative-

As the sun burns out

Through waving trees,

Ember

Shot through with fire...

I am full.


Full with the fury

That turns

Bird song

Into gunshot wounds,

Screams of beauty,

Into a day so dark.


A mower purrs,

Trampling grass,

Under sharp blades,

Cutting through

Greenery,

Unaware

Of it's imminent deadening.




Positive-

Sorrow

Full

Mixed blessings

Pride before fall

Sorrow before full.


I swim through

Turbulent tears

Breakaway skies

Till

Sorrow

Fills

Me.

Unhappiness flying headfirst into balance.



bottom of page