top of page

Southwold.

Updated: Jul 16, 2020





This poem is all about my favourite place- a little coastal village called Southwold. As a child, I visited Southwold every year with my family for holiday. I first went when I was 6 months old so it's fair to say I grew up here. Since I moved out of London, I live considerably closer so I'm extremely lucky that with the help of a bus I can be there within two hours, meaning those yearly visits have become more like 6 monthly visits! Nevertheless, every year, despite me being older, we always make sure we are booked in for a holiday. I am devastated that this year we are unable to go, so this poem is a reminder that this beautiful, calming corner of the world will still be there no matter what.



Blinding

Swish

Have you ever attempted sleeping with a guiding light

Bounding

Into your periphery

Every

Ten

Seconds?


Bolting you up,

Groggy,

Gritty.

You are suddenly aware of the sand in between

Hair

And

Scalp.


Swish.

It guides you to land,

A safety net.

Swish

Bolt up,

Clothes on.


You run.

Swish,

You see the seashore,

Ocean deep,

Blood calm.


bottom of page